Leonard Tapia

September 21, 2017 08:48 PM

Position: Roswell Bureau Chief.


Year Hired at KOB: 2017

First TV Appearance: I was interviewed by KVIA (ABC 7 El Paso) in Las Cruces when I was visiting New Mexico State University as a perspective student. The rest is history! 

Other TV jobs/markets/stations: KENW News 3 New Mexico. This is the local college news station I worked at as an undergrad. We aired live broadcasts every week. I started out as an anchor and quickly worked my through the news room as a reporter and producer. I even got my feet wet as the weatherman one semester.

First Reporting Story: My first story was about the New Mexico Military Institute Regimental Marching Band. They were selected to play at the inauguration of Donald Trump, but could not go.

Role Model: My mom and dad. They are the most influential people in my life. Without them, I wouldn’t be where I am today. (This is the part where I accept my Emmy Award, right?)

Why I'm A Journalist: I’ve also wanted to be a journalist. Every other kid I knew growing up wanted to be a doctor or a pop star. I was not ambitious enough to achieve either one of those. I enjoy telling stories and being able to inform people about what’s happing around them, especially in my home state!

Most proud of: Graduating with my Bachelor’s degree in just two and a half years! I’m the first in my immediate family to receive a college education, so that’s a big deal for me.

Favorite thing about New Mexico: EVERYTHING! From the Carlsbad Caverns to Chaco Canyon, there is something for everyone! It really is the land of Entrapment…I mean Enchantment! Lol.

Dream Interview: Oprah. Barbra Walters. Whoopi Goldberg. The list goes on and on.

Favorite TV Program: KOB Eyewitness News 4, without a doubt. BUT, I also very much so enjoy binge watching The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. Don’t ask.

Alma Mater: Eastern New Mexico University. Everyone’s a hound *WOOF* *WOOF* *WOOF* That’s how it goes, right?!

Hometown: Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Favorite things about my family are: I have too many things to list, but I’ll just say their love and support is what gets me through the days. 

Height: 6 feet even.

Star Sign: Gemini.

Kids: I’m a kid myself…Nuff” said.

Siblings: Several! One older brother and sister, three younger sisters and one younger brother. You can call us the Hispanic Brady Bunch.

Hobbies: I love me a good nap! I also like to watch countless hours of Netflix and YouTube videos. Not really hobbies, but you get the idea. I like to read on my free time as well and spend time with family and friends.

Favorite Food: I love menudo and posole! And anything my mom makes, of course! (Sorry dad, she has you beat on this one).

Red or Green: RED!! RED!! RED!!

Favorite Sports Team: Does the United States Gymnastics team count??

Favorite Musician: Lana Del Rey. 

Favorite Moviestar: Probably Melissa McCarthy. I love the entire Bridesmaids cast as well.

Favorite Vacation place or weekend escape: You can always find me on my couch during the weekends, but I also like spending my free town in downtown Santa Fe or exploring the Pecos/Santa Fe wilderness.

Favorite Song: Lean On by Major Lazer.

Favorite quote: “Someone once told me to not bite off more than I could chew. I told them I’d rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity.”

Favorite color: Red and black.

Favorite movie(s): Anything Tim Burton! Especially Edward Scissor Hands!

One thing my co-workers don’t know about me is… I am cheer geek! The high school cheer team I was a part of took state 3 years in a row! We were kind of a big deal. I love the sport of cheer and would like to coach my own team one of these days. Maybe even start up my own cheer gym.


Copyright 2017 KOB-TV LLC, a Hubbard Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved


Accelerated Mobile Page by Relay Media.
See standard version.